

NEW YORK STATE INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION

Final Redistricting Plan

Commission Vice-Chair Jack Martins and Commissioners Ross Brady, John Conway, Charles Nesbitt, and Willis Stephens

The redistricting plan contained herein was written pursuant to the New York State Constitution, Article III, Section 4(c), utilizing the following principles for the creation of election districts:

To the extent practicable, districts were drawn to contain substantially equal populations, or as nearly as may be an equal number of inhabitants. Congressional districts were drawn so as to have zero population deviation between them, as required by the U.S. Constitution. Senate and Assembly districts were drawn so as to have as minimal a population deviation as possible, while also attempting to keep political subdivisions whole.

The Commission is required to consider "the maintenance of cores of existing districts, of preexisting political subdivisions, including counties, cities, and towns, and of communities of interest." To that end, our proposed Assembly maps keep nine hundred fifty-seven (957) towns, cities, and Indian reservations whole out of a possible one thousand nine (1009). In the proposed Senate maps, where towns are largely required to remain whole, our plan strives to also keep cities whole wherever possible and manages to keep thirty-eight (38) counties whole as well. One notable exception is the City of Buffalo, which is approximately eighty percent (80%) whole under the proposed Senate plan. The city was split in order to maintain communities of interests within the city, joining part with the town of Cheektowaga, and the remainder with more suburban areas outside of the city line.

In drawing Senate districts, towns or blocks which, from their location may be included in either of two districts, are required to be placed as to make said districts most nearly equal in number of inhabitants. This requirement is generally referred to as the "block-on-border" and "town-on-border" rules. Population deviation within Senate and Assembly plans was minimized, with both plans having a total deviation under five percent (5%). All Assembly districts fall within three percent (3%) of ideal population, while every Senate district save for one falls within two percent (2%) of ideal population. That district, containing the City of Rochester, has a higher deviation as a result of our motivation to keep the city whole, coupled with the aforementioned "block-on-border" and "town-on-border" requirements.

All districts were drawn to consist of contiguous territory and be as compact as practicable given the Commission's adherence to the foregoing principles.

As required by the New York State Constitution, the Commission conducted public hearings in the cities of Albany, Buffalo, Syracuse, Rochester, and White Plains, as well as in the counties of Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond, Nassau, and Suffolk. The Commission chose to conduct three additional hearings, one for the Southern Tier held in the town of Vestal, as well as North Country and Statewide hearings, both of which were held virtually. Prior to these public hearings, the Commission held nine (9) virtual listening sessions, also open to the public, to seek testimony relating to communities of interest throughout the state.

District lines were drawn to ensure that no district shall have the purpose of, nor result in, the denial or abridgement of racial or language minority voting rights. No district was drawn to discourage competition or for the purpose of favoring or disfavoring incumbents or other particular candidates or political parties.

The enacting legislation for the redistricting plan is presented in draft format to accommodate the insertion of the eventual self-referencing Senate and Assembly bill numbers.