

New York State Independent Redistricting Commission

David Imamura, Esq.

Chair

Jack Martins, Esq.

Vice Chair

Commissioners

January 3, 2022

Eugene Benger, Esq.

Speaker Carl E. Heastie

Ross Brady, Esq.

Legislative Office Building, Room 932

John Conway, Esq.

Albany, NY 12248

Dr. Ivelisse Cuevas-Molina

Dr. John Flateau

Majority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins

Legislative Office Building, Room 907

Albany, NY 12247

Charles Nesbitt

Elaine Frazier

Willis Stephens, Jr. Esq.

Minority Leader William A. Barclay Legislative Office Building, Room 933

Albany, NY 12248

Co-Executive Directors

Karen Blatt

Douglas Breakell

Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt Capitol Building, Room 909

All AN/ 422.47

Albany, NY 12247

Dear Legislative Leaders:

Article III, Section 5-b(g) of the New York Constitution states:

In the event that the [independent redistricting] commission is unable to obtain seven votes to approve a redistricting plan on or before January first in the year ending in two or as soon as practicable thereafter, the commission shall submit to the legislature that redistricting plan and implementing legislation that garnered the highest number of votes in support of its approval by the commission with a record of the votes taken. In the event that more than one plan received the same number of votes for approval, and such number was higher than that for any other plan, then the commission shall submit all plans that obtained such number of votes.

Earlier today, the commission held a public meeting in which it voted on the approval of redistricting plans. Two redistricting plans, Plan A and Plan B, each garnered five votes for approval, which was a higher number of votes than that for any other plan. The commission is thereby obligated by § 5-b(g) to submit both Plan A and Plan B to the legislature.

Please find enclosed the redistricting plan and implementing legislation for Plan A. The record of the votes taken for Plan A is as follows. Chair Imamura and Commissioners Benger, Cuevas-Molina, Flateau, and Frazier voted Yea. Vice Chair

Martins and Commissioners Brady, Conway, Nesbitt, and Stephens voted Nay. Co-Executive Director Breakell will submit under separate cover the redistricting plan, implementing legislation, and record of the votes taken for Plan B.

Finally, Article III, Section 4(c) provides that "The independent redistricting commission shall report the findings of all [its public] hearings to the legislature upon submission of a redistricting commission." Transcripts of all testimony from our public hearings are available on our website, at https://www.nyirc.gov/submissions.

Sincerely,

Karen Blatt

Co-Executive Director

L_ Blatt

New York State Independent Redistricting Commission